Review: The Runner’s Devotional

Standard

The Runner's Devotional: Inspiration and Motivation for Life's Journey . . . On and Off the RoadThe Runner’s Devotional: Inspiration and Motivation for Life’s Journey . . . On and Off the Road by Dana Niesluchowski
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

The Runner’s Devotion is a great weekly devotional for runners. Each devotion is broken up into seven section and includes journal space and a running log. There are sections focusing on The Runner, The Race, and The Result, and also questions to draw your attention to key points.

But this devotional is more than just a book on the physical aspects of running. Each devotion offers a tie-in from physical to spiritual exercise. The goal of each week is to encourage you in your physical race and in your spiritual race.

With 52 weekly entries, plus training schedules for everything from a 5k to a marathon, this is a great book for many runners. I don’t know that it’s so great for more casual runners (of which I am one). However, I’ve warmed to the idea of reading it before my Saturday run — it helps me focus on what I can do before I run, instead of what I can’t do.

One other thing I really like is that each of the training schedules (with the exception of the marathon schedule) includes Sunday as a rest day. Those are the first schedules I’ve seen that have that option, and they were a pleasant surprise.

If you run, or are starting to run, this is a good way of keeping on track, spirit, soul, and body.

.

I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
Leave a Reply

