The Rhythm of Secrets by Patti Lacy

Standard

image

Sheila Franklin has what seems like the perfect life as the wife of a prominent minister in the City of Chicago. However, when she gets a phone call from a voice she’d never expect, she knows instantly that her life is never going to be the same.

The book is called The Rhythm of Secrets for a reason, and it’s hard for me to go into much detail without giving something away. With that being said…

This was a good book, even though it took me a long time to get through it. Because it alternates between the history of the main character and her present-day situation, there was alot of action to absorb. And yet, the plot almost seemed to take too long to unfold, with most of the present-day action coming in the last few chapters.

For much of the book I was bothered by the way the main character’s husband was portrayed, as well as the portrayal of their present-day relationship – I didn’t feel either one was presented very strongly. Thankfully, my concerns were resolved during the climax of the book. I appreciated that, though the resolution of the story felt a little too rushed and neatly wrapped up. (However, that may just be a personal preference of mine; I prefer stories not shift forward in time too much after the climax of the story.)

All in all, I right this was a well written book that kept me interested in the protagonist. Nicely done.

I won this book a while ago from Amber’s blog Snidbits (check it in our Other Pages section), and just recently got to read it. I liked it, and I wanted ya’ll to know!

Leave a Reply

